Baby Solveig is here !

My BFF just had her second daughter but she had not told us whether it was a boy or a girl so I had very little time to welcome little Solveig and to prepare a card for her.

At first I made three different cards but they did not really inspire me…. And then I saw on my desk a background I made some time ago but I had not yet made a cards out of it. It was a background made using Jennifer McGuire’s technique, the one she described on her blog and YouTube channel a few weeks ago and that she called faux textured metal paper. And then enlightenment came...

Studio_20150921_210332

Mine uses three distress inks : Spiced Marmelade for the orange, Worn Lipstick for the rosy red colour, and Seedless Preserves  for the purple. On top of that I applied a thin layer of perfect pearl and then I placed it all in an embossing folder for babies the result is awesome.

For all of my baby cards I like to write the name of the baby but this time I wanted it embossed with liquid platinum using the powder from Ranger. I really love this color which is a kind of warm silver.

My other wish was to use my own handwriting except when you do that it usually takes you hundreds of tries before you get it right… A-nno-ying !

So what I used two things : first the Skitch app on my tablet. It is really great because its smoothes any line that you trace on your tablet so when you write, it kind of smoothes the little imperfections that you can find in your handwriting. I love it, it feels like your handwriting is awesome which is great when, like me, you are quite clumsy..

Then I emailed it to myself and I used the Silhouette studio software on my computer and used the trace tool to have it written by the Silhouette using my clear embossing marker. It is great because the machine writes it really fast so the ink does not have time to dry and it does’t smear…

When the machine was done, I took my paper and sprinkled my embossing powder on top of it, and then I heat set it.

I also used the embossing powder in the border of my background in order to give it an irregular distressed look.

I then used a Rayher die set for the balloons and the cute elephant colored with distress inks and embellished using wink of Stella glitter pen glitter brush. I added 3d foam tape and a golden cardbase and there it is : a very pretty personalised baby card for my best friend’s daughter, I love it !!

Studio_20150921_210512

Supplies :

Laisser un commentaire

